Tap Screen To Begin

Pat Ryan Curling Team - 1985-1989

Curling Team - Inducted 1999

The Pat Ryan Curling Team, known as "Ryan's Express", curled out of the Ottewell Curling Club in Edmonton.  Ryan’s Express included Randy Ferbey, Don Walchuk, and Don McKenzie.  They were four-time Alberta Champions in 1985, 1987, 1988, and 1989.

The Pat Ryan Team set a Canadian Championship record at the 1988 Brier by winning with a perfect 12-0 record.  They were also the first team to win consecutive Briers since the playoff format was introduced in 1980, winning the Canadian title in 1988 & 1989.

The Pat Ryan Team closed out their curling careers together as a team by defeating Switzerland 5-4 to become the 1989 World Champions. 

The Pat Ryan Team was inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1994.

                                                      Pat Ryan                 (Skip)
                                                      Randy Ferbey       (3rd)
                                                      Don Walchuk         (2nd)
                                                      Don McKenzie       (1st)



After Induction

The Pat Ryan Curling Team:

Pat Ryan (Skip), Randy Ferbey (3rd), Don Walchuk (2nd), and Don McKenzie (lead).  

The team split up after the 1989 curling season.  Since then, many of the members have gone on to make their own mark in the curling world.

Randy Ferbey formed his own team. The team has competed in five straight Brier championships, winning four (2001 Ottawa, 2002 Calgary, 2003 Halifax, 2005 Edmonton). They went on to win the 2002, 2003 and 2005 World Curling Championships. During the 2005 World Championships, held in Victoria, BC, the “Team Canada” Ferbey team became the first team to win four straight playoff games to win a world title. They were inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2019.

Don Walchuk played 3rd for the Kevin Martin team from 1989 - 2006. The team represented Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Olympics and brought home the silver medal.  Don Walchuk formed his own team in 2007.

Pat Ryan - won another world championship while playing third on Rick Folk's BC team in 1994.  Pat went on to skip another team and won the 2007 Senior Canadian Championship.  The team went on to win the 2008 World Senior Curling Championships in Vierumaki, Finland.  Pat was inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1994.  Pat was the coach for the John Morris Curling team during the 2013-2014 season.

Randy Ferbey and his “Ferbey Four” curling team were inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2019.  During his competitive career, Randy, won six Brier championships and four World Championships. He skipped his team of David Nedohin, Scott Pfieifer and Marcel Rocque to five straight Brier finals.  They won the Brier in 2001 (Ottawa), 2002 (Calgary), 2003 (Halifax), and 2005 (Edmonton).  They won the World Championships in 2002, 2003, 2005.  The team played their last event together at Dawson Creek, B.C. April 2010.  As an individual, Randy announced his retirement from competitive curling in March 2012.  He was inducted into the World Curling Hall of Fame while at the 2015 World Championship held in Halifax. He stated at the time that his team should have been inducted, not just himself

   “We were the first team to quit our jobs and go full time. I’m very proud of that fact. I’m proud that we were the first team to have the big sponsorships. We were the first team to bring in six-figure sponsors. We funded our whole year without working. We had $350,000 to $400,000 coming in. The prize money was a bonus on top of that.

            “And we played aggressive. We had the greatest rock thrower in the game. Dave Nedohin could draw a pimple on a fly’s ass. We were never afraid. We changed the style of the game. Now it’s reversing back a bit.”


Randy continues to promote the sport - especially Senior curling.  He created a pro-Am tournament for Seniors curlers (age 50+) - 2016 marked the third year for the Everest-Ferbey National Pro Am.

Don Walchuk played on a Randy Ferbey team  in 1990.  From 1992 to 1994 he skipped his own team.  He played for the Kevin Martin team from 1996 to April 26, 2006.  The team won the Brier in 1997, a silver Olympic medal at the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Olympic Games, and Canada's Cup trophies in 2005 and 2006.  They were four-time Alberta provincial champions.  From 2008 to 2010, Don played for the Kerry Burtnyk team.  In 2010, Don once again, formed his own team.

Don McKenzie - Updates: October 2010, 2014, May 2015, Nov. 2016, September 2019