Tap Screen To Begin

U Of A Pandas Volleyball Teams, Edmonton 1994-95 / 1995-96 / 1996-97 / 1997-98 / 1998-99 / 1999-2000

Volleyball Team - Inducted 2002

Pandas Volleyball Teams: 1994-1995, 1995-1996, 1996-1997, 1997-1998, 1998-1999, 1999-2000.

The University of Alberta Pandas Volleyball Team amassed an amazing record of six consecutive CIAU National Championships. Led by coach Laurie Eisler, interim coach Lorne Sawula in 1999-2000, and the entire coaching staff, the Pandas utilized the talents and leadership abilities of 39 different players during their six championship seasons. During those six consecutive championship seasons, the teams amassed numerous individual awards, including two Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union (CIAU) Coach of the Year Awards, 10 CIAU All-Canadians, four CIAU Player of the Year Awards, one CIAU Rookie of the Year Award, 24 Canada West All-Stars, and four CWUAA Championships.

1994 - 2000 U of A Pandas

Tara Algajer (AC), Carrie Barrett (AC), Pierre Baudin (C), Katharine Brown, Susie Buckmaster, Heather Buckmaster, Jenny Cartmell, Michelle Clark, Claudia Covelli, Shandra Doran, Laurie Eisler (C), Andrea Enns, D’Anne Ewasko, Kim Gillies, Jason Grieve (AC), Christy Hansen, Cathy Holt, Don Hui (AC), Joanna Jenkins,Christy Jickling (AC) Olivia Kachman-Barker, Sue Landers, Dean Lowrie (AC), Allison Luchkow, Tashie Macapagal, Joss MacKenzie, Erin Nitta (AC), Mike Noble (AC), Stephanie Nychka, Jill Oborne-Dressel, Andrea Oh, Jenny Perkins, Mirka Pribylova, Sheena Rouse, Tisha Rouse, Joanne Satkunas, Lorne Sawula,(C), Lorna Scarlett (AC), Carmen Schmidt, Katrin Schnadt, Danielle Snyder (C), Carsten Stanjeck (AC), Ava Stochinsky, Vanessa Stupar, Colleen Venne (AC), Maria Wahlstrom, Tonya Walton, Talbot Walton (AC), Alyssa Wionzek, Cheri Wright, Krista Yarish, Angela Zawada, Janelle Zylstra

After Induction


2007 – The U of A Panda’s 2006/07 Team won the national championship – a feat that had not been accomplished since the 1999/2000 team won.

2017 – Laurie Eisler is inducted the Edmonton’s Sports Hall of Fame

2018 – Dr. Lorne Sawula is inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame as a Volleyball Builder