Edmonton Huskies Football Teams - 1962 1963 1964

Edmonton Huskies Football Teams - 1962 1963 1964

The Edmonton Huskies Junior Football Teams won three consecutive Canadian Championships in 1962, 1963 and 1964 and competed in the 1965 Canadian championship losing 2-1.  To-date, no other Junior Football team in Canada has surpassed this accomplishment of three Championships in a row.  All three titles came against the Montreal Notre Dame Maple Leafs. Consistency of players, great leadership and a special bond among the players and staff contributed to the success of these teams. Eight team members played with all three Canadian Championship teams. Nine of the players went on to play in the Canadian Football League.

Other achievements of these three teams were: three-time Alberta Champions, three-time Alberta / British Columbia Champions, three-time Western Canada Champions and three-time City of Edmonton Athletic Award winners.

The City of Edmonton in September 2002 renamed the Edmonton Huskies practice facility to be called the “Ron Forwick Field” in honour of a former team mate who played on all three winning teams and had passed away of cancer.

The players, coaches and staff of this era continue to work as a team celebrating, fundraising and supporting one another as a group. The special bond still exists after 40 years.


Page Break

Edmonton Huskies Junior Football Team

(1962, 1963, 1964)

Inducted in 2005

Team Members

Ayers, Terry*

Forwick, Ron*

Mather, Gil

Bailey, Ken

Fostvelt, Don

McClain, Garry

Bateman, Bob

Gardner, Don (EM)

Mercer, Keith

Bering, Ivan (C)

Garner, Lorne

Miller, Roger

Bird, Larry

Gilbert, Dave

Mitchell, Bruce

Bradford, Ross

Gilbert, Peter

Nielsen, Gary

Brady, Dustin

Gordichuk, Al

Osokin, Richard

Brazeau, Don

Green, Don

Precht, Paul

Brodie, Jim

Hamilton, Don (GM)

Rankel, Tony

Bryson, Bruce (C)

Hansen, Warren

Rasmuson, Ralph*

Bushell, Dick*

Hutton, Joe (C)

Rairdan, Jerry*

Cantelon, Hart

Jameson, Lang

Riley, Ro

Capham, Ron

Johnson, Clare

Roberts, Marv

Chandler, Morley

Justick, Victor*

Sarnowsky, Manley

Cogill, Harry

Kachman, Clarence

Shandro, Moe

Crosby, Ed

Kadatz, Dennis (C)

Shirley, Dale

Cross, Collin

Kolbuc, Dave

Shymka, Ron

Dake, Garry

Kravinchuk, Sam

Spanach, George

Dallin, Ray

Luders, Len

Steel, John

Doige, Bob

Lund, Gordon

Sterling, Jon

Donlevy, Jim (C)

Machan, Tom

Switzer, Bruce

Dufrense, Larry

MacKenzie, Kim

Wanzel, Bob

Egbert, Steve

Macleod, Ian

Wheeler, Glen*

Flohr, Ross

Malicky, Ron

Willans, Gord

Ford, Monty (T)

Martin, Ken

Wozniuk, Bill

Forwick, Ron*

Yohemas, Don

The 1962 - 1964 Teams were inducted into the Edmonton Sports Hall of Fame in 2012 at the City's Salute to Excellence Awards ceremony.


2012 - Edmonton Sports Hall of Fame (1962-1964 Teams)


Dustin Brady (note some info may be private).

Dustin Brady played and then coached as Paul R. Brady.  In 1983 he changed his name to Dustin T. Shannon-Brady.  He was born December 2, 1941.  He was a middleguard with the team and wore Jersey #37.  He played with the team in 1961 -1962, was an assistant coach in 1964 (line...linebacker) and was the head coach from 1965 to 1967.

(Received information from Dustin:  Sept. 28, 2018)

Tony Rankel

Tony Rankel passed away April 5, 2020.  Tony Rankel, was the quarterback for the Edmonton Huskies winning four consecutive Provincial Championships and three consecutive Canadian Championships.  He was a two-time Brier participant and highly respected educator.  George Spanach wrote “the consensus was that Tony Rankel was the Greatest Huskie of all.”