Edmonton Oil Kings Hockey Team - 1963 1966

Edmonton Oil Kings Hockey Team - 1963 1966

The Edmonton Oil Kings, a junior hockey team, played against men in the rugged senior Central Alberta Hockey League (CAHL). The 1963 Oil Kings began their playoff run competing in both the junior and senior ranks- at the same time. They entered the Memorial Cup playoffs and won the Abbott Cup. At the Memorial Cup final, the Oil Kings lost the first game 8-0, and then battled back in one of the roughest and most memorable series ever, to win the Cup four games to two. The Oil Kings returned to the Memorial Cup final in 1966 held in the venerable Maple Leaf Gardens. In game six, with the score tied 1-1in the third period, Oshawa Generals defenceman Bobby Orr stepped on the stick of the Oil Kings’ Ross Perkin’s and fell. Ted Hodgson took the puck, went in on a breakaway and scored for the Oil Kings. The team held on for a momentous 2-1 victory to win the Memorial Cup. That was the first time a team from the west captured the title in the east since 1930. This was the seventh straight year that the Oil Kings went to the Memorial Cup during a run where the team qualified for the national championship a staggering nine times in the span of twelve years.

1963 Edmonton Oil Kings - Inductees

Anderson, Ron

Chase, Jimmy

Knox, Swede

Pilling, Gregg

Barber, Butch

Downey, Vince

LeClerc, Leo*

Quinn, Pat

Bend, Tom

Eagle, Jim*

Marshall, Bert

Rochefort, Dave

Bourbonnais, Roger

Falkenberg, Bob

Mestinsek, Max

Sather, Glen

Brashaw, Buster*

Flemming, Harold

Mitchell, Jim

Serediak, Walter

Brown, Jim

Fox, Doug

Paul, Butch*

Taschuk, Reg

Bulloch, Rich

Kirk, Russ

1966 Edmonton Oil Kings - Inductees

Anderson, Ron

Hamilton, Al

Knox, Swede

Pierce, Murray

Bailey, Garnet*

Harrison, Jim

Lonsberry, Ross

Rochefort, Dave

Barrie, Doug

Head, Galen

McLeod, Don

Rogers, Ted

Bennett, Bryan

Hodgson, Ted

Mitchell, Jim

Schraefel, Jim

Caley, Don

Hunter, W.D. “Bill”*

Myers, Harold

Serediak, Walter

Cameron, Craig

Ketter, Kerry

Peacosh, Eugene

Simpson, Red

Falkenberg, Bob

Kinasewich, Ray

Perkins, Ross

Walters, Ron

Hague, Brian

Knox, Jim

Quinn, Pat 

  • was claimed by the Vancouver Canucks in the 1970 expansion and two seasons later was claimed by the Atlanta Flames, making him an original player for two NHL teams.

  • His career ended in 1977 when he fell off a skateboard and broke his leg in two places.

  • Scored 18 goals with 113 assists in 606 NHL games,

  • 950 penalty minutes.

Coaching career:

  • Coached Philadelphia Flyers to a 35-game win streak

  • Won another Memorial Cup with the Vancouver Giants in 2007 (minority owner)

  • Jack Adams Award (NHL coach of the year) in 1980 and 1992.

  • Winter Olympic gold medal with Team Canada in 2002. Coached the Canadian Men’s Team to the first gold for Canada in 50 years in Olympic men’s hockey.

  • World Cup championship gold with Team Canada in 2004.

  • IIHF U18 gold medal with Team Canada in 2008.

  • IIHF U20 gold medal with Team Canada in 2009.

  • 2012 – Order of Canada recipient: November 23.

  • Quinn was a member of the committee that determines who is inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

  • 2013 - He was named the Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame committee.

  • 2014 - Passed away November 23 at age 71 of cancer.

  • 2015 - posthumously named to the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame in the builders category – December 17.

Sather, Glen – (See Glen Sather, 1996 Builder, for more information).

  • December 2015 – The Edmonton Oilers honoured Glen with two days of celebrations, including a fundraising dinner and a banner hanging ceremony at Rexall Place during the Oilers vs. New York Rangers game.