Medicine Hat Tigers Hockey Team - 1986-87, 1987-88

Medicine Hat Tigers Hockey Team - 1986-87, 1987-88

The Medicine Hat Tigers Hockey organization joined the Western Canada Major Junior Hockey League in 1970.  In their relatively short time in the League, the Tigers have claimed the ultimate prize four times, as WHL Playoff Champions in 1973, 1987, 1988 and 2004.  On top of their impressive playoff record, they were regular season champions in 1985-86, and 2005-06.

It was the 1986-87 season that the Medicine Hat Tigers won their first Memorial Cup in 14 years.  Following that remarkable season the team did it again, winning the Memorial Cup for the second year-in-a-row in 1988.  They became the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships.  With that history-breaking run, they are still only one of six teams in the League’s 88-year history to win back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships.

There were many great players that contributed to the teams victories from the 1986/87 and 1987/88 teams, including future NHL players: Trevor Linden, Mark Pederson, Rob Dimiao, and Dean Chynoweth.

1986/1987 - 1987/1988

Medicine Hat Tigers

Barlage, Mike

Boe, Vince

Bolding, Mark

Bonora, Ron

Brady, Neil

Brooke, Dwayne

Cheney, Corey

Chynoweth, Dean

Clemens, Kevin

Colvin, John

Cox, Jeff

DiMaio, Rob

Dundas, Rocky

Ekdahl, Kevin

Ellerman, Trevor

Farwell, Russ (GM)

Fitzpatrick, Mark

Gainer, Clayton

Gamble, Troy

Garbutt, Murray

Hitchins, Kelly

Huscroft, Jamie

Hynes, Wayne

Kametiz, Jim

Knibbs, Kalvin

Knopp, Kevin

Kordic, Dan

Krushel, Rod

Kuntz, Mark

Kushner, Dale

Lindal, Kirby

Linden, Trevor

MacWilliam, Mike

Maxwell, Bryan (Coach)

McBean, Wayne

McCrady, Scott

McGill, Ryan

Melrose, Barry (Coach)

Miller, Jason

Nicols, Bob

Pederson, Mark

Phillips, Guy

Pohl, Trevor

Prosofsky, Jason

Riehl, Kevin

Schwengler, Mike

Siska, Randy

Van Rooyen, Keith

Wenaas, Jeff

Wilkinson, Neil

Williams, Rod

Woolf, Mark

Zankowski, Cal

2003-04 - Won the WHL Championship

2006-07 - The Medicine Hat Tigers won the WHL Championship and competed at the Memorial Cup, losing to the Vancouver Giants.

2008 - Trevor Linden - The NHL Vancouver Canucks retired Trevor Linden's #16 jersey December 17.  Trevor Linden retired from playing in June 2008 – having played, most of his 19 years in the NHL with Vancouver. At the age of 21, he became one of the youngest players in the history of the NHL to be named captain and set a record for number of games played for Vancouver at 1,140.  From 1998 to 2005 he was president of the NHL Players Association. In 2003, he was awarded the Order of British Columbia.

2014 – Trevor Linden – The Vancouver Canucks named Trevor Linden President of Hockey Operations on April 9, 2014.

2015 -  ASHFM Selection Committee reviewed the team(s) induction list and it was decided that the Head coaches and GM would be included on the team roster as Honoured Members into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame: Russ Farwell [GM], Bryan Maxwell [C], Barry Melrose [C].

2019 – 1986/87 & 1987/88 Teams will be inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame on July 21

2015 Update to inductee status

Note:  Originally only the team players were inducted.  The selection committee changed the criteria - post 2009, and after a review it was decided in 2015, that the coaches and GM would be included on the team roster:

  • Russ Farwell - GM

  • Bryan Maxwell - Coach

  • Barry Melrose - Coach

HM Pins were mailed to them.

Updates:  2008, 2014, 2015, 2019