University of Lethbridge Pronghorns Women's Rugby Teams 2007, 2008, 2009

University of Lethbridge Pronghorns Women's Rugby Teams 2007, 2008, 2009

The Lethbridge Pronghorns Women’s Rugby Team won three straight CIS Championships in 2007, 2008 and 2009 under head coach Neil Langevin.

The Pronghorns entered the 2007 season as the front runners.  In the conference final, Lethbridge was victorious and claimed their second consecutive conference championship in a 3-0 victory.  They qualified for the CIS Championship Tournament, where they claimed their first-ever Monilix Trophy with a 15-10 win over the host Western Mustangs.  First year winger Christie Pierson paced the team with two tries.  Freshman Brittany Orr was the first Pronghorn to be named the CIS Championship MVP.  Brittany Orr, Shannon Court and Amanda Richardson were named tournament all-stars.

Lethbridge hosted the CIS Championship in 2008. Kendra Gavelin had three successful tries in the semi-final game as they beat a tough Guelph squad 39-3 to go on to the final.  The championship game against St. Francis Xavier was played in front of more than 1,000 fans.  The Pronghorns fought back throughout the game and had an exciting 29-15 come-from-behind victory. Captain Ashley Patzer, who had missed the 2007 championship due to national team duties, excelled during the 2008 run and was named the CIS Championship MVP.

During the 2009 season, the team outscored their Canada West opponents 333-7. The 2009 National Championship game was once again played against St. Francis Xavier.  Defence was the hallmark of the Pronghorns, as they forced the X-women into making mistakes in their own end.  Lethbridge scored 15 unanswered points in the first half, and went on to a 20-3 victory.  Named to the all-star team were Brittany Orr, Ashley Patzer, Kelsey Willoughby, and tournament MVP Andrea Letal.

A lasting legacy of the Pronghorns’ success was the creation of the Rugby Academy in Lethbridge by the Alberta Sport and Development Centre South West (ASDC-SW).  CIS rugby is one of the key stepping stones to the National Sevens and 15’s Canadian Teams.  Many of the Pronghorn players graduated to the U20 and Sr. programs, paving a way for the current level of success by Canada on the international stage.

The Pronghorns were inducted into the Lethbridge Sports Hall of Fame in 2011.

University of Lethbridge Pronghorns
2007, 2008, 2009 Rugby Teams

Inducted in 2015

Ahart, Genevieve

Jonsson, Katelyn

Patzer, Ashley

Ankutowicz, Jillian

Kelly, Roxanne

Pierson, Christie

Armstrong, Courtney

Koning, Chantal

Ralph, Kenzie

Boulet, Toby [TM]

Kossuth, Rob [AC]

Raslask, Carly

Brown, Rachael

La Rose, Bernadette

Reeves, Kendra

Brown, Rikki Lee

Langevin, Neil [HC]

Richardson, Amanda

Campbell, Cassie [STH]

Laurent, Allie

Robinson, Heather

Corliss, Heather [STH]

Leavitt, Kim

Rogers, Cindy

Cougle, Janice

Letal, Andrea

Stearns, Emily

Court, Shannon

Luhowy, Kim [AT]

Stefanyk, Kessie

Dautremont, Tiffany

MacDonald, Ashley

Stewart, Kim

Davidge, Genna

MacKenzie, Regina

Suttie, Lynn

de kok, Natalie

McDougall, Norm [AC]

Van Eck, Nicole

Duxbury, Lindsey

McIndoe, Michelle [STH]

Van Eeuwen, Brandi

Faulkner, Courtney

Murphy, Kevenza

Wickwire, Jennifer

Gavelin, Kendra

Murphy-Burke, Laura

Willoughby, Kelsey

Gillett, Quinn

Murrray, Jena

Woynarowsky, Paula

Hake, Stacey

Ogrins, Austin

Zaremba, Ashley

Hendricks, Alex

Ondrus, JJ [AC]

Zoeteman, Brittany

Hogg, Robynne

Orr, Brittany

Ashley Patzer (married name – Ashley Steacy) competed at the Rio Olympic Games in 2016 on the Canadian Women’s Rugby 7’s team.  The team won the bronze medal.